Create Account

Which teams have improved more in S73 compared to S72? [2x IIHF]

First of all, congrats to Sweden for the Gold, besting my nation of Norway 8-3, who in turn get the Silver medal. Second of all, congrats to Finland for the Bronze medal. Now that Season 73 of IIHF is done and dusted, let’s compare this season with the previous one. We will analyze some of the stats from the regular season of both seasons, comparing them and stating some teams’ strengths along the way in the form of some silly awards. I’ll preface this by stating that I’m a total newbie when it comes to hockey and hockey stats. I have obviously done my fair share of research on the topic while writing this, but I’m certainly not exempt from stating something completely wrong. If that’s the case, please let me know below. Without further ado, let’s begin.

Most Improved Offense Award

This award goes to the team with the most goals in Season 73 compared to Season 72. The winner is Team Canada with +11 goals, going from a respectable 8th in Goals Scored in Season 72 with 46 goals, to 2nd in Season 73 with 57 goals; 1 goal less than the leader Finland. This improvement helped them go from 5th in their Conference in S72 to 3rd in S73 and a playoff berth. Kudos for a job well done on this front. Honorable mention to Latvia for being the runner-up with a +8 goal improvement.

Most Improved Defense Award