Create Account

SMJHL Teams – Where Does Sivart Go?
(This post was last modified: 11-19-2020, 10:45 PM by Sivart.)

Welcome to my not-so-serious, entirely fun double draft media article on my first impressions of SMJHL teams and where I think I could end up. I like this type of article, since it offers a fresh look at what we end up just becoming accustomed to after a couple of seasons. While this is not an original concept by any means, I’ve never written one of these before and am excited to dig into each team.  I am a fresh face here with no prejudices or blind loyalties. This also means I am completely ignorant of what I am talking about for a lot of this.

In the following paragraphs, I will be rating each SMJHL team based on five categories: 1. City Location, 2. Team Name, 3. Branding, 4. Team Needs, 5. Overall Impression:

For 1, Location – Cities that I know and enjoy, or want to visit, will get a big boost. Livability, including amenities, will also play into this rating. While I’ll tend to lean towards larger centres, there is a certain something about small market teams that could be appealing. Obviously, this means pretty much nothing in a sim league, so should have very little attention paid to it.

On 2, Name – a team name is very subjective. In general, teams embodied by fierce animals, weather phenomena or connections to something of historic significance is preferred. While alliteration will always get extra points, it is not a requirement by any means. While it does not mean much in terms of team performance, I still think name matters more than the city. A team name can inspire and/or strike fear and this category should be taking slightly more seriously.